Do dreams really have meanings?


I woke up and realized I was crying while I was sleeping. It took me a while to stop from crying when I woke up. My dream felt so true.

My dad was missing like over a week and my mom insisted to search for him, I advised her to stay home because there were already some people searching for him but she was unstoppable. And so off she went. But then she didn’t return home. Two weeks have passed but there was still no trace of my parents. So I went searching for them, but did not find them, it didn’t stop me from searching my parents, I was losing hope and I ended up bursting into tears.

I woke up with my husband and my daughter trying to stop me from crying. I was holding my breathe, it was just a dream but my tears didn’t stop from falling down my cheeks.

They asked me what’s wrong but I couldn’t tell them anything about it.

My parents live miles away from where I am now located, thank God for mobiles to keep in touch with our loved ones. My mom is suffering from Parkinson since years already, and my dad started forgetting a lot of things. I hurriedly sent my mom a message asking how she was doing. We had a long conversation, in fact she’s doing great. But she told me she got mad with my dad last night because was missing something he couldn’t find it and my mom was the only person he could blame. She said she wanted to leave home and my older sister asked her if she would pick her up. She ended up staying home though and said she will just forget it.

Well, now back to my dream… It’s not long ago when I started interpreting my dreams, I got used to look for the meanings on Google, until one day I realized I could interpret it on my own without looking for the meaning on the internet.

I actually used to have a small dream dictionary book when I was like 12 years old but people told me it’s an evil’s work and I had to throw or burn it.

If that is true, I asked myself, then why are dreams even interpreted on the bible? Jacob interpreted for example that he and Joseph’s brothers will be under of Joseph’s authority which actually came true after years.

My Parents symbolize my parenthood, they served as an example to my family. Here’s how I interpreted it: there might be an aspect in my life that is missing, my parents symbolized my parenthood or my motherhood, me searching for my parents as I interpret it, is my search for my own self, but I was close to losing hope, and me crying was the result of my sufferings, my extensive feelings of being afraid to be alone.

I tried to look at how I felt in my dream, it was so sad, and another way to interpret it is that part of me was missing my parents with a desire to be with them. I was scared, and so there is part of me that is scared in real life.

Last night I had a conversation with some of my group friends about my family, about home, and my mom.

I remember I’ve read somewhere that dreams are the effect of our subconscious mind working everyday even if we are not fully aware of it. Our feelings unexpressed, our thoughts neglected, eventually, depending how strong it is, will reflect through “dreams”.

I personally like to think that dreams serve as a wakeup call, it is our eye-opener, whatever happens ahead is already interpreted in our dreams only sometimes in a different way. It serves as a warning, or simply a manifestation of feelings and thoughts expressed in puzzles and codes, only it is up to us if we believe in it, if we listen to the signs and examine it’s true meaning.

3 thoughts on “Do dreams really have meanings?

  1. You write beautifully, DaZ. I think you should follow what is true for you and don’t worry about what others think. Of all the people you will ever know or love, there is one person you will wake up with every day for the rest of your life.

    I am 77, so have been through what you are going through now. It is difficult for people to accept their aging and their physical challenges that come with age. Just be there to let them know you will always love them and also don’t be afraid to share with your own family. It is what brings families closer together in a lasting way. Just let them know what they have both meant in your life, and even though they might not hear it or understand it outwardly, they will hear it forever in their hearts. Be true to yourself and to your family and mom and dad too. I am glad you have had such wonderful people in your life. Peace and blessings always, Anne P.S. WordPress has me mixed up with my best friend Barbara below because I have made her web site for her since she is physically challenged.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi Anne, thank you very much for your great understanding. I totally agree with everything you just said. It seems to me like you’ve been through all what I am also going through, such a great advice. My parents are my greatest inspiration, they put me through where I am now, they were the main reasons of my greatest achievements in life.
      Although I have already built my own family, not a successful one though… I must say I’ve been through many hardships with my marriage, but I am still lucky because I have a daughter who helped me cope with what I was going through, she was the only reason why I had to be strong when I almost gave up, yes… I was almost there… close to giving up, when I felt like my body, my mind and soul almost stopped functioning for a moment. Though I have friends who were there for me, there came a moment when I felt like I was losing all my friends and everything I have.
      But you’re right, there is always one person you will wake up with everyday for the rest of your life.
      I must say though, my marriage broke, almost hard to imagine it was a total disaster, but can you believe it… we live separately yet still together, yes we’re still in the process of fixing it, there’s too little hope but we’re positive everything will turn out well.
      It is my greatest fear of losing all the people that I love, esp. my family. I know we will all go there, someday… it is really frightening, and I’m sure nobody wants to be alone, but what if even your tiny hopes disappear?
      What’s important for me now is that I am still surviving… I still have my family… at least… and I think it made us even stronger and mature and even more prepared on what this life brings us ahead. Thank you for reading Anne, you definitely know more than what I’ve gone through and probably already see the things I haven’t gone through yet… it is an honor to hear one of your great advices. Have a happy and holy 1st Advent. ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

      1. We cannot, in reality, “fix” others or what does not work in a relationship. We must learn to open our consciousness for what is possible from our differences. I am very different from my significant other, Richard in so many ways, and I doubt that we will ever be the same in our thinking. We argue about that sometimes, but we each stick to our own belief systems. After all, we grew up through our lives with them. I have learned that it is all OK. I can let go of needing for everything to work or the idea that I can “fix” anything about him. He is who he is and he is the person I came to live in the beginning, so it is my task to learn to appreciate him for who he is, and who he is not. And I am sure he loves me the same way. It is what makes us unique and a good fit in this world. I wish for you and your family – all of them – the best life has to offer for today, tomorrow and all your tomorrows that will follow. Anne always

        There is a saying from a book I like very much by Jo Coudert, an old-time actress and author. She has long since passed on, but here is what she says in her book, Advice from a failure. It makes a lot of sense to me. “Of all the people you will know in a lifetime, you are the only one you will never leave nor lose. To the question of your life, you are the only answer. To the problems of your life, you are the only solution.”

        Wishing you the best life has to offer for today, tomorrow, and all the days that follow. Anne always

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.